4 Paths of Spiritual Growth

1. Raja yoga - the path of meditation.

2. Jnana yoga - the path of wisdom.

3. Bhakti - the path of devotion.

4. Karma yoga - the path of service.

All 4 paths are simply different means to the same one end:

To thin out the conditioning of the mind, dissolve and purify it to realize consciousness as the Self.

Everyone has a different nature, and will find one path easier in accordance with their natural temperament.

An experiential type would fare better with raja yoga. An intellectual who must understand first towards jnana yoga. An emotional person would lean towards bhakti yoga. A practical type will gravitate towards karma yoga.

No one path is ideal for everyone, it's easier being more natural to start with the path closest to your nature.

It will not be ideal for an emotional person to start on the path of wisdom, just as it would be unnatural for an intellectual to start on the path of devotion.

It makes no difference, as progess on 1 path naturally flowers all the qualities of the other 3 within the heart.

The further you travel down 1 spoke, the closer you are to the other 3 until they all merge in the same source:

As consciousness, the true Self.

by Pardeep.

© Copyright Pardeep 2004 - 2017